Mendelssohn Octet at Southwark Cathedral


Friday 18th June
18:30 – Doors open
19:30 – Concert begins
21:30 – Final doors


Tchaikovsky – Souvenir de Florence
Mendelssohn – Octet in E flat major


Jonathan Stone – Violin
Jamie Hutchinson – Violin
Ellie Consta
– Violin
Guy Button 
– Violin
Will Bender – Viola
Alex Wakeling
 – Viola
Chris Grist – Cello
Bryony James
– Cello


For the second concert in a new special series of chamber music concerts performed in the stunning surroundings of Southwark Cathedral, London Concertante present two of the finest pieces of chamber music from the 19th century. Souvenir de Florence was the product of Tchaikovsky’s 3-month stay at his patron’s house in Florence, a work that simultaneously evokes the Italian countryside and yet bursts with the Russian folk melodies that permeate many of Tchaikovsky’s other works, whilst Mendelssohn’s Octet, famously written when he was just 16, positively overflows with youthful energy and unbridled joy.   


We are really sorry but we are not able to offer refunds for our events. However, if the event cannot go ahead for any reason, including Covid-19 restrictions, it will be rescheduled and moved to an alternative date and your tickets will also be transferred to this new date.


Southwark Cathedral, London Bridge, London SE1 9DA

Covid-19 Safety Precautions