Baroque classics


Saturday 31st October
18:30 – Doors open
19:30 – Concert begins
21:30 – Final doors


J.S. Bach Solo Cello Suite No. 1 in G major
J.S. Bach Violin Partita No. 2 in D minor: VI – Chaconne
Handel Suite in G minor: VI – Passacaglia (arr. Halvorsen)
J.S. Bach Prelude, Fugue, and Allegro in E-flat major BWV 998
J.S. Bach Concerto in D minor (after Marcello) BWV 974, II. Adagio
J.S. Bach Toccata in E minor BWV 914
Corelli La Follia


Jonathan Stone – Violin
Chris Grist – Cello
Satoko Doi-Luck 
– Harpsichord


For the first event in this new series of chamber music concerts hosted in the beautiful surroundings of Southwark Cathedral, join three virtuosic soloists from the acclaimed chamber orchestra London Concertante for an evening of Baroque music performed by candlelight. Norwegian composer, Johan Halvorsen’s remarkable reimagining of Handel’s Passacaglia is set between three works by Bach that showcase his mastery at composing for the cello, violin and harpsichord in turn, before the concert concludes with Corelli’s lively and inventive set of variations on the ‘Folia’ theme. 


We are regrettably not able to offer refunds for this event. 


Southwark Cathedral, London Bridge, London SE1 9DA

Covid-19 Safety Precautions